Tuesday, February 26, 2008

No Top of Ballot Candidates in First Day of Filing

No Top of Ballot Candidates in First Day of Filing

The first day of candidate filing Monday for the June 3 primary saw no congressional contenders at Secretary of State Mike Mauro's office. The biggest name to file was House Speaker Pat Murphy, who was one of 13 House members to file on day one.

Three newcomers joined the candidate ranks, all in open Republican seats. Mason City Democrat Lionel Foster is seeking the House District 13 seat being vacated by Republican Bill Schickel. The seat is a top Democratic target.

The other two new candidates are Republicans. In House District 55, Jason Schultz of Schleswig hopes to replace Clarence Hoffman. Chris Hagenow of Windsor Heights filed in House District 59, where Dan Clute is stepping down.

In past primary seasons, opening day has been followed by a relative lull of activity until a filing frenzy the final week. The deadline this year is March 14.

Incumbent Senators Filing February 25 (3D, 0R)
  • Brian Schoenjohn, D-Arlington, District 12
  • Tom Hancock, D-Epworth, District 16
  • Frank Wood, D-Eldridge, District 42

    Incumbent Representatives Filing February 25 (11D, 2R)
  • Wes Whitead, D-Sioux City , District 1
  • Roger Wendt, D-Sioux City , District 2
  • Dwayne Alons, R-Hull , District 4
  • Henry Rayhons, R-Garner , District 11
  • Bob Kressig, D-Cedar Falls , District 19
  • Roger Thomas, D-Elkader , District 24
  • Tom Schueller, D-Maquoketa , District 25
  • Polly Bukta, D-Clinton , District 26
  • Pat Murphy, D-Dubuque , District 28
  • Dick Taylor, D-Cedar Rapids , District 33
  • Art Staed, D-Cedar Rapids , District 37
  • Kurt Swaim, D-Bloomfield , District 94
  • Paul Shomshor, D-Council Bluffs , District 100
  • No comments: