Saturday, August 16, 2008

Uncontested Races

21 Legislative Seats Uncontested

21 Iowa legislative candidates, including one open seat contender, can start picking out their favorite desk trinkets for the January session -- they've got no opposition at all.

Democrats have a slight edge over Republicans in filling places on the ballot in Iowa's 125 state legislative races. Democrats have fielded 114 candidates, while Republicans have 108.

The two parties break nearly even on uncontested races. 10 Democrats and 11 Republicans have no opposition in the fall. The Democratic edge comes in the seven races where Democratic incumbents will face only a third party opponent and no Republican.

In Senate District 2, Republican Randy Feenstra will walk into his first term without facing an opponent in either the primary or general election (not that having a Democratic opponent would have made much difference in a Sioux County district).

With Friday's filing deadline, the Democrat vs. Republican matchups for Iowa's federal and state races are final -- even if a candidate dies. That actually happened two years ago, when unopposed Republican Rep. Mary Lou Freeman passed away. A December 2006 special election was required to fill her seat.

There's one asterisk on the list: In Cedar County-based House District 79, Democrat Rebecca Spears filed in March, and then announced her withdrawal from the race. However, she did not file the paperwork to withdraw by the Aug. 7 deadline, and will appear on the ballot against Republican incumbent Jeff Kaufmann. Spears failed to respond to an inquiry from Iowa Independent. Cedar County Democratic Chair Linda Carillo told Iowa Independent that Spears did not respond to repeated attempts at communication before the withdrawal deadline.

Third parties still have a week to substitute candidates, but only in districts where they've already filed. The Libertarians have two candidates and the Greens have one.

  • Complete list of candidates at the Secretary of State's site (.pdf)

    Unopposed Democrats

    House District 22: Deborah Berry, D-Waterloo (won a primary challenge)
    House District 24: Roger Thomas, D-Elkader
    House District 25: Tom Schueller, D-Maquoketa
    House District 30: Dave Jacoby, D-Coralville
    House District 34: Todd Taylor, D-Cedar Rapids
    House District 38: Tyler Olson, D-Cedar Rapids (Republican opponent dropped out)
    House District 42: Geri Huser, D-Altoona (won a primary challenge)
    House District 48: Donovan Olson, D-Boone
    House District 78: Vicki Lensing, D-Iowa City
    House District 88: Dennis Cohoon, D-Burlington

    Unopposed Republicans

    Senate District 2:  Open Seat -- Dave Mulder retiring, GOP nominee Randy Feenstra was also unopposed in the primary
    Senate District 26: Steve Kettering, R-Lake View
    Senate District 28: James Seymour, R-Woodbine
    Senate District 30: Pat Ward, R-West Des Moines
    Senate District 32: Brad Zaun, R-Urbandale
    House District 5: Royd Chambers, R-Sheldon
    House District 6: Mike May, R-Spirit Lake
    House District 51: Rod Roberts, R-Carroll
    House District 82: Linda Miller, R-Bettendorf
    House District 97: Rich Anderson, R-Clarinda
    House District 98: Greg Forristall, R-Macedonia

    Candidates With Third Party Opponents Only

    Senate District 4: Jack Kibbie, D-Emmetsburg ("Grassroots For Life" opponent)
    House District 15: Brian Quirk, D-New Hampton (independent opponent)
    House District 46: Lisa Heddens, D-Ames (Libertarian opponent)
    House District 66: Ako Abdul-Samad, D-Des Moines (Green opponent)
    House District 77: Mary Mascher, D-Iowa City (independent opponent)
    House District 90: John Whitaker, D-Hillsboro ("4th of July Party" opponent)
    House District 93: Mary Gaskill, D-Ottumwa (independent opponent)
  • No comments: