Thursday, December 04, 2008

Iowa Legislative Committees

Johnson County House Delegation Gets Prominent Roles

All five Iowa House Democrats representing Johnson County districts will have prominent committee assignments when the Legislature reconvenes in January.

Iowa City's two Democrats will both chair full committees. Mary Mascher will chair the State Government committee and Vicki Lensing will head the Government Oversight committee.

Dave Jacoby of Coralville will head the Joint Appropriations Subcommittee on Economic Development.

Johnson County's two freshmen will both be committee vice chairs. Nate Willems of Lisbon is number two on the Labor committee, and Larry Marek of Riverside will be vice chair of Agriculture.

The other committee assignments for Johnson County House Democrats:

  • Mascher: Education, Human Resources, Labor, Veterans Affairs
  • Lensing: Environmental Protection, Judiciary, State Government
  • Jacoby: Appropriations, Commerce, Economic Growth, Rebuild Iowa & Disaster
  • Marek: Economic Growth, Natural Resources, Transportation, Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Willems: Education, Judiciary, ,State Government, Ways and Means,
    Justice Systems Appropriations Subcommittee

    Update: Republicans announced assignments a few hours after the Dems. The one House Republican representing Johnson County, Jeff Kaufmann of Wilton, will be on Rebuild Iowa, State Government, Judiciary and Ways and Means.
  • No comments: