Friday, March 14, 2014

Not Quite Final Filing

Maybe there's governor primaries, maybe there's not. After a couple hours of refreshing, the top of the candidate list reads:
This is not the final candidate list for the June 3, 2014, Primary Election.
Filings received on March 14, 2014 that have yet to be reviewed are:
- Paul David Lunde, filed for US Senator, Republican Party
- Gail E. Boliver, filed for US Representative, District 1, Republican Party
- Tom Hoefling, filed for Iowa Governor, Republican Party
- Jonathan Ray Narcisse, filed for Iowa Governor, Democratic Party
These filings will be reviewed Saturday, March 15, and a final candidate list will be posted following that review.
So that bet is yet to be collected. But Paul Dahl is definitely out.

Jack Hatch is in, Matt Schultz and Anesa Kajtazovic are in, and in the 1st CD Republican race we get TWO contenders: Mark Lofgren which was expected and Some Dude Matthew Waldren, who announced months ago but appears to have done nothing except get the signatures. The contest here is for runner-up to Mariannette Miller-Meeks.

Dave Loebsack is in - after 2006, I always sweat that - as is Steve King and Democratic opponent Jim Mowrer. But Staci Appel gets the Democratic 3rd CD nod by default as Gabriel de la Cerda dropped out this morning.

There are no Republican candidates for attorney general or state treasurer, slots that remain open for a primary loser. Democrats fielded a full slate for the state offices with only one, maybe, contested primary dependning on what happens with Narcisse.

Moving on to the state senate, only one late change. A second Democrat in Senate District 7: Maria Rundquist filed, joining Jim France; both lost Sioux City council races last year. The winner faces GOP incumbent Rick Bertrand in a top Democratic target.

In the state House:

No Jane No! Jane Jech (pronounced yeccch) is back for the fourth straight cycle. After losing to Democrat Mark Smith in the 2008 and 2010 House races, she upset Larry McKibben in the 2012 Senate 36 primary, before going on to lose to Steve Sodders. This cycle, she's challenging Smith again. Most persistent loser: Jech, Joan Acela, or West Branch David Johnson? At least Jech won a tough primary in 2012 AND made it close in 2010, losing by just 300.

The last two incumbents, Clinton Democrat Mary Wolfe and Boone Republican Chip Baltimore, made it in. Baltimore also picked up a second Democratic opponent, Mark Trueblood.

Brad Condon is the third Democrat to file in the Anesa Kajtazovic seat, House 61 in Waterloo. He joins Timi Brown-Powers and Andrew Miller; the winner will face Republican Nathan Bolton.

Democrat Rick Edwards of Decorah is offical in House 55, seeking to replace the retiring Roger Thomas. And Theresa Meyer of Waverly filed as a Dem in House 63, seeking to challenge GOP freshman Sandy Salmon.

Democrat Megan Suhr is making a second run in in House 28. Suhr won 44% against Greg Heartsill in the open seat 2012 race. This cycle Heartsill has a primary challenge from Jon Van Wyk.

Bettendorf rotary president Mark Ross is the Republican in House 93, challenging Democrat Phyllis Thede. She had a close race in 2010 then drew a weak 2012 opponent.

Kim Robinson of Clive is the second Democrat challenging Republican Chris Hagenow in House 43; Nicholas Dreeszen filed yesterday.

Odd news out of Iowa City in House 85, where a Ron Varner filed a primary challenge to Democratic incumbent Vicki Lensing. Not anybody I know.

Tough missions: Grundy Center Democrat Doris Fritz is challenging Pat Grassley in red turf in House 50. Democrats had no candidate last cycle. Democrat Greg Fritzche of Primghar filed to challenge Republican Rep. Dan Huseman, who hasn't seen an opponent since 2008 (he only won 58% but his new turf is redder). Fritzche ran for O'Brien County supervisor and lost, badly, in 2012. And Democrat Kenneth Mertes of Onawa hopes to silence Matt Windschitl in House 17.

Work on the Comprehensive Overview is underway. Stay tuned.

No comments: