Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Day 2 of Filing

The festival of filing continued today at the Secretary of State's office, with a few more names that I'd somehow missed:

Davenport tea partier Mark Nelson, who was the 2006 Libertarian nominee for lieutenant governor. He's now on the ballot as a Republican in House District 93, a swing seat held by two term Democrat Phyllis Thede.

In another new-to-me filing, Imogene farmer Mark Costello filed in empty House District 23 in the state's southwest corner.

Republican Dean Fisher of Garwin is the first name to surface in Tama-based House District 72, where GOP incumbent Lance Horbach announced his retirement before the map even came out.

Larry Sheets of Moulton filed in House District 80, centered in Monroe County with no incumbent. Democrat Joe Judge is running here.

Bloomfield's James Johnson, last spotted on Team Bachmann, is on the ballot for House 82, now held by Fairfield Democrat Curt Hanson.

Two Republicans who lost 2010 primaries are making another try. Waterloo Republican Lyn Tackett in House District 61 lost to former mayor John Rooff, who in turn lost to Anesa Kajtazovic in November. Home schooler Sandy Salmon filed in Bremer based no-incumbent House 63, where Dems have recruited former senator Bill Heckroth.

In stuff I already expected:

Knoxville Democrat Dick Schrad filed in open Senate District 14, the seat ex-Republican leader Paul McKinley is vacating.

Clive minister Jeff Mullen filed today to challenge GOP incumbent* Pat Ward in Senate District 22. * = Ward moved into the seat to avoid a pair-up with Democrat Matt McCoy. About half of the district was her turf in the old map.

The first of FOUR expected Democrats in Senate District 42, Rich Taylor of Mt. Pleasant, has filed. That's the seat where longtime Democratic incumbent Gene Fraise is retiring.

Dan Zumbach of Ryan is the first Republican in for empty Senate District 48. This seat is also home to failed Battle of Marion Senate candidate Cindy Golding -- will she follow through here? UPDATE: Guess not: at last week's Linn Co GOP meeting Golding announced she was NOT running and backed Zumbach (thanks: Don McDowell) Dems are running Lisbon Rep. Nate Willems.

In House District 8, which had THREE incimbents on Map Day, we have a primary challenger, as minister Bob Dishman files. Dishman's looking to knock off the Republican left in the district, Henry Rayhons.

Tea party-ish Jim Carley filed in Altoona-based House District 30, where conservative crusader Kim Pearson is stepping down after just one term.

Davenport city council member Bill Edmonds (R) filed to challenge Democrat Jim Lykam in House District 93.

Routine incumbent filing was led by Senate GOP leader Jerry Behn in Senate District 24. In not-so-routine incumbent filing, Sioux City freshman Republican Jeremy Taylor filed for House District 13. He's expected to face first-term Democrat Chris Hall in the only two-incumbent House general election matchup.

Other incumbents who stopped by:

  • Republican Randy Feenstra has the reddest seat in the Senate, District 2; went completely unopposed for his first term, both general AND primary, in 2008.

  • Half-term GOP Sen. Joni Ernst won a January 2011 special to replace Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds. Now on significantly changed but still solidly red turf, she filed for a first full term in Senate District 12.

  • Fellow GOP Senator Tim Kapucian is also on significantly changed turf in Senate District 38, except his seat got a lot more Democratic.

  • Safe northwest Republican Chuck Soderberg is in for another term in House District 5

  • Stand your ground: Missouri Valley's Matt Windschitl constitutionally filed for a fourth term in House District 17

  • Osceola freshman Joel Fry for a second term in House District 27

  • Peter Cownie of West Des Moines in House District 42

  • First term Republican Bob Hager filed in Allamakee-Clayton based House 56.

  • Two freshman House Republicans avoid redistricting pair-ups. Guy Vander Linden filed in Pella-Oskaloosa House 79, where Jim Van Engelenhoeven retired. Lee Hein of Monticello moved back into his district, House 96; his house was in House 58 where Brian Moore is staying and running.

  • Dubuque's Pat Murphy, who as then-Speaker got a close call in 2010, is looking for another term in House 99.
  • No comments: