Monday, March 05, 2012

Filing Day Six

Jacoby, Lensing file for re-election

Congressional candidate Ben Lange, who damn near pulled off a huge upset against Bruce Braley, is back for a second try and tops the filing on Day 6.

For my local readers, two Democratic members of the Johnson County delegation filed today: Coralville's Dave Jacoby in House District 74 and Vicki Lensing of Iowa City in House 85. The join Mary Mascher of House 86 who filed last Friday.

Looking at the rest of the state:

Former Senator James "Back In" Black filed in open north central Senate District 4. Black held the seat for one year, 1997, before resigning.

On overlapping turf, Republican Henry Rayhons files in House District 8. He was one of THREE incumbents in the seat on Map Day; Stu Iverson is managing Black's campaign and Linda Upmeyer moved. But Rayhons has a primary challenger, minister Bob Dishman, who filed last week.

Another Republican with a primary challenge, Indianola's Julian Garrett, filed in House District 25. He faces former Madison County supervisor Joan Acela, who also ran in 2010 when the seat was open.

Democrat Janet Petersen prepares to make a smooth transition from the House To the Senate, filing in open Senate District 18. The only real excitement here is the Democratic primary for her open House 36 seat.

Marshalltown Republican Jane Jech, who's lost two straight House races, filed in Senate District 36. Former senator Larry McKibben is also running; the winner sees McKibben's successor, Democrat Steve Sodders, in the fall.

Estherville Democrat John Wittneben, a narrow open seat winner in 2010, filed in House District 7. Two Republicans have already filed to challenge.

In open House 28, Republican Len Gosselink of Otley filed. His likely primary rival, home-schooler Greg Heartsill, had a big fundraising lead. The winner faces Democrat Megan Day Suhr.

Fitness club owner Mike Brown filed as a Republican in open House District 40, where Republican Scott Raecker is stepping down.

Republican Rob Taylor filed in open, new House District 44 in Dallas County, a This Is Where Your District Went seat. It's the eastern part of the old Ralph Watts seat. I was expecting a big primary here, but Taylor, a prominent party activist, is the only Republican name I've seen.

The other young Republican from Ames, Stepehn Quist, files in House 46 where he'll face Democratic incumbent Lisa Heddens. He announced a couple weeks back at a joint event with House 45 candidate Dane Mealson.

A couple incumbents who dodged pair-ups with their own party filed. Republican Cecil Dolecheck filed in House 24 where fellow Republican Richard Anderson retired. Likewise, Fairfield Democrat Curt Hanson avoided a pair-up in House District 82 when fellow Dem Kurt Swaim stepped down.

In routine incumbent filing:

  • Sioux City GOP freshman Ron Jorgensen in House District 6

  • Des Moines Democrat Bruce Hunter in House 34

  • Mason City Democrat Sharon Steckman in House 53

  • Elkader Democrat Roger Thomas in House 55

  • Waterloo Democrat Deborah Berry in House 62

  • Davenport Democrat Cindy Winckler in House 90

  • and least but not least, Charles Isenhart in Dubuque's House 100.
  • No comments: