Thursday, July 30, 2009

8 for school board

Eight file for Iowa City school board

Three late entries bring the Iowa City school board field to eight for three seats at the 5:00 filing deadline.

Two late filers, Jeffrey Manthey and Anne Johnson, are from North Liberty. The third is Tuyet Dorau.

They join April Armstrong, Josh Kaine, Jean Jordison, Sarah Swisher, and incumbent Mike Cooper.

This list isn't quite final; candidates have until 5:00 Tuesday to drop out. If it holds it's the biggest field since 1987 which also saw eight candidates on the ballot for three full term seats (there was also a short term seat). Current city councilor Connie Champion (how alliterative can ya get?) topped the field.

No comments: