Saturday, August 18, 2012

District Of The Day 3: Iowa Senate District 21, Iowa House District 41 & 42

Senate District 21
Registration: D 15551, R 12321, N 9912, total 37840, D +3230
Incumbent: Matt McCoy, D-Des Moines; holdover seat

McCoy gets to hold over till 2014 on polarized turf, split into a Democratic half and a Republican half and less Democratic than his old seat. But he had plenty to spare and is still on solid ground. The Democratic side is more Democratic than the Republican side is Republican, and Republican co-incumbent Pat Ward was announcing her move west by noon on Map Day.

House District 41
Registration: D 9358, R 4964, N 4274, total 18626, D +4394
Incumbent: Jo Oldson, D-Des Moines

Oldson won won with 65% in 2010, which is about her usual margin. The lines change little for Oldson, and increase her Democratic margin slightly. GOP opponent Clarke Davidson describes himself as a Ron Paul Republican Occupier. I describe him as a Some Dude.

July 19 Campaign Finance Report: Oldson for State Representative, (Davidson did not form a committee)

House District 42
Registration: D 6193, R 7357, N 5638, total 19214, R +1164
Incumbent: Peter Cownie, R-West Des Moines

Put an asterisk on this one: Democrat Mike McRae of Des Moines filed, but announced he was dropping out for health reasons after being injured in a accident. But that dropout has still not happened, and his name is still on the list.

That would make two Cownie opponents dropping out in a row. Alan Koslow left the race late in 2010, saying it was impossible to compete with Cownie financially. He won 34% as a name on the ballot with a D after it. Cownie had defeated Koslow 55%-42% in 2008 when the seat was open.

The district stays pretty much the same: most of the Polk part of West Des Moines. The old district had 200 more Republicans.

July 19 Campaign Finance Report: Cownie for Statehouse

Senate District 21, House District 41 & 42: District of the Day 1 - 5/23/2011 | District of the Day 2 - 3/16/2012

No comments: